RESOLUTION OF THE DURHAM COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

GRANTING EASEMENTS TO THE NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION: US 15-501 and SR 116 (Garrett Road)

WHEREAS, on September 9, 2024, the Board of Commissioners approved the conveyance of easements to the North Carolina Department of Transportation (Agenda Item 24-0456); and

WHEREAS, the action taken on September 9, 2024 was memorialized in a Resolution dated March 24, 2025, which included some incorrect information; and

WHEREAS, the Easements are on three parcels of County-owned property, and are necessary in order to convert the at-grade intersection to an interchange; and

WHEREAS, each of these parcels is held in the Open Space inventory; and

WHEREAS, the Durham County Open Space and Real Estate Division Manager and staff have reviewed these plans and confirmed that they do not significantly impact the conservation values of the land; and

WHEREAS, this Resolution is necessary to the North Carolina Department of Transportation easement process; and

WHEREAS, the easement conveyance supports the County Strategic Plan and goals for Sustainable Infrastructure & Environment by planning for long-term use of County land, and preservation and restoration of the natural and built environment;

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we the Durham County Board of Commissioners do hereby resolve:

- 1. To rescind the Resolution executed on March 24, 2025, in this matter; and
- 2. To convey the Easements as follows:
- Parcel 001- REID 140103 located at 4716 Durham-Chapel Hill Blvd. NCDOT to acquire a Permanent Utility Easement on this .92 acre parcel. Compensation to DCO will be \$1,375.
- Parcel 025- REID 140118 located at 4715 Durham-Chapel Hill Blvd. No land or easements to be acquired by NCDOT. The purpose of this easement is for Control of Access only. Compensation \$0.
- Parcel 026- REID 140106 located at 4702 Durham-Chapel Hill Blvd. NCDOT to acquire a Permanent Utility Easement and a drainage utility easement. Compensation to DCO will be \$1,000.

This the day of	, 2025.
Nida Allam, Chair	Mike Lee, Vice Chair

Wendy Jacobs, Commissioner	Michelle Burton, Commissioner
Stephen Valentine.	Commissioner