DURHAM BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Resolution

RECOGNIZING GIRL SCOUT TROOP 1440 – SILVER STAR PROJECT

- **WHEREAS,** at a time when this nation's youth face difficult challenges, the Girl Scouts of America is one of our finest assets, providing young ladies with an educational program that contributes significantly to their character development, citizenship training, and improved mental and physical fitness; and
- **WHEREAS,** the Girl Scout Silver Award is the highest award a Girl Scout Cadette can achieve and it gives them the chance to show that they are leaders who are organized, determined, and dedicated to improving their community; and
- WHEREAS, Alana Bobmanuel, Jaydn Hodge, Lundyn Mills, and Sierra Woods decided to personally help the community by beautifying two businesses on Fayetteville Street and as a group, they worked to restore the beauty in The Plaza Barbershop and Chris and Champs Beauty Salon for their Silver Star Award Project; and
- **WHEREAS,** the purpose of this project was not only to visually improve the exterior of the businesses but to build connections and relationships within their community by giving back to black businesses that help them every day; and
- WHEREAS, during summer months they worked on painting, power washing, redoing the business signage and the business owner, Mrs. Margie Jones was so pleased with their work; and
- **WHEREAS,** the businesses along Fayetteville Street were given a flyer that provided resources for small businesses; and
- **WHEREAS,** this project taught everyone involved about hard work, how to make compromises, plan tasks and that girls of different ages can make a difference in their community.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that we the members of the Durham County Board of Commissioners, do hereby resolve to congratulate Alana Bobmanuael, Jaydn Hodge, Lundyn Mills, and Sierra Woods on their completion of the

SILVER STAR PROJECT FOR THE GIRL SCOUT SILVER AWARD

This 23rd day of September 2019.

Wendy Jacobs, Chair

James Hill, Jr., Vice-Chair

Heidi Carter, Commissioner

Brenda A. Howerton, Commissioner

Ellen Reckhow, Commissioner

