DURHAM BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS



100TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE PASSAGE OF THE 19TH AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES AND THE FOUNDING OF THE LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS

- **WHEREAS,** an organized movement to enfranchise women began in July 1848, at a convention in Seneca Falls, NY; and
- **WHEREAS**, through the efforts of brave and courageous women referred to as suffragists who sacrificed family, their personal life and their financial resources for over seventy years to gain equal rights for women, especially the right to vote; and
- **WHEREAS,** women and men, black and white, supported the woman's suffrage movement for women to gain the constitutional right of having a voice in making the laws that govern them; and
- **WHEREAS**, the woman's suffrage movement led to the passage of the 19th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States in 1919; with ratification by the states by the summer of 1920; and
- **WHEREAS**, the National Woman's Suffrage Association dissolved in 1920 to create the League of Women Voters of the US to register voters and educate all voters; and
- **WHEREAS**, the League of Women Voters of North Carolina was launched on October 7, 1920, on the steps of Guilford County Courthouse by Gertrude Weil, a politically active and tireless young woman from Goldsboro, NC; and
- WHEREAS, more than 120,000 women were registered to vote in North Carolina by 1920; and
- **WHEREAS**, women today constitute a majority vote in our state and the US and are running for office in higher numbers and more active in the election process than ever before in history.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that we the members of the Durham County Board of Commissioners, do hereby recognize the 100th anniversary of women gaining the right to vote and the founding of the League of Women Voters in the United States and in North Carolina. We also recognize the impact these historic accomplishments have on citizen engagement and the civic life of the community, the state and the nation.

Wendy Jacobs, Chair

James Hill, Jr., Vice-Chair

Heidi Carter, Commissioner

Brenda A. Howerton, Commissioner

Ellen Reckhow, Commissioner

This 14th day of October 2019

