DURHAM BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Resolution

HONORING THE LEGACY OF DEAH BARAKAT, YUSOR ABU-SALHA AND RAZAN ABU-SALHA

- WHEREAS, Deah Barakat, Yusor Abu-Salha and Razan Abu-Salha were young students in pursuit of their educational endeavors when their lives were tragically cut short by an Islamophobic hate crime in early 2015; and
- WHEREAS, these productive individuals preparing themselves to work in the areas of dentistry, biological sciences and architecture at two area universities and became highly regarded for their generous work in the region sharing services to assist the homeless by providing food and dental supplies; and
- **WHEREAS,** they unselfishly worked to tackle many of the challenges facing our regional community by giving of themselves to address critical issues and to inspire others to take up the mantle and do the same for the least of those among us: and
- **WHEREAS,** it is evident from their actions that Deah, Yusor and Razan completely embraced the philosophy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. who said, "Everybody can be great because anybody can serve. You only need a heart full of grace; and
- WHEREAS, the Our Three Winners Foundation was created to honor the legacy of Deah, Yusor & Razan with a core mission to mitigate explicit biases and to end hate crimes against all communities; and
- **WHEREAS,** the Light House Project was created to carry on the dream of Deah Barakat to one day have a unified and structured community and support the youth with their projects.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Brenda Howerton Chair of the Durham County Board of Commissioners; and on behalf of the Durham Board of County Commissioners, do hereby resolve to honor the memory of

DEAH BARAKAT, YUSOR ABU-SALHA and RAZAN ABU-SALHA

For their unwavering dedication to using their skills and resources to serve mankind both here and abroad. We urge all Durham community members to reflect on their profound legacy of service and to model their efforts daily.

This the 22th day of February, 2021.

Brenda A. Howerton, Chair

Wendy Jacobs, Vice-Chair

Nida Allam, Commissioner

Nimasheena Burns, Commissioner

Heidi Carter, Commissioner

